過渡

過渡在轉變前無可避免。過渡是中轉站:是昂首闊步,是江河日下,是變革前夕的蛻變。過渡可以非常短暫,人往往不加注意,甚或拋諸腦後,只注目事情結果。過渡可以是稍事歇息,讓人得以審時度勢,隨機應變。過渡亦可以是無期休止,使人進退失據。

在文學,過渡是轉折連接,融合段段文字於一體。在科學,過渡是物質狀態的轉換。在自然界,過渡是生老病死,是山雨欲來的潮悶,亦是嬰孩呱呱落地的一剎。

環觀世界,外交關係風雲變色,各地政府權力交替不斷,能源系統向可持續寸進,多元性別性向邁向平權,與此同時,百萬難民流離失所,前路茫茫。香港由漁港躍身成為大都會,主權由英國轉移到中國,但高度自治受到質疑,也是過渡。主權移交以五十年不變的承諾為前提,然而經常需要變革適應的城市,承諾不變恐難兌現。而對很多人而言,過渡只是生命階段的更迭,每個階段就只是下一階段的過渡,直到每人步向最終的歸息。

我們現誠邀你捕捉轉移變遷,以及過渡箇中的經驗──可能是一瞬,也許是無盡。

TRANSITION

Transitions manifest before a turn. They are the in-between: the progression, the regression, the metamorphosis that transpire ahead of change. As intermissions, transitions are forgotten because they are so brief—neglected, because all eyes have shifted to what has transpired. As extended lulls, transitions offer space for rumination, guided by the transformation in sight. As indefinite pauses, they trap one in limbo, where the only constant is uncertainty.

In literature, transitions signal change, bonding rows of text together as one. In science, they are the movement from one state of matter to another. In nature, transitions are the graduation from one stage in a life cycle to another; the cumulation of air, heat and moisture ahead of a storm; the moment before a child is born.

Across the globe, diplomatic affiliations are shifting; governments are changing hands; energy systems are inching towards sustainability; alternate gender identities and sexualities are preparing for their time to shine. Meanwhile, the lives of millions of displaced individuals continue to be put on hold. In Hong Kong, a transition occurred when a fishing village morphed into a metropolis; when its sovereignty was transferred from Britain to China; when autonomy was brought into question. The transfer of sovereignty came with the promise to leave the city unchanged for five decades—but in a city of transition, any promise of changelessness could sound empty. For the rest of us, transitions simply mean the progression from one life stage to the next; waiting in one line after another, constantly transitioning, until we wander into the queue for a final resting place.

We now invite you to capture the shift, the transformation, and experience the in-between—however fleeting, however endless, they may be.