評審


John Stanmeyer 是攝影記者、人道主義者、艾美獎提名電影製作人及田野錄音師,專注於劃時代的社會及政治事件。 過去十年,他以近乎獨家形式與《國家地理雜誌》合作,為其提供 14 個專題故事及 10 份封面相片。1998至2008年他為《時代雜誌》特約攝影師,曾採訪阿富汗戰爭、東帝汶爭取獨立、印尼蘇哈托倒台及其他重要世界大事,於《時代雜誌》工作期間他攝下18幀封面相片。 2015年 Stanmeyer 加入 National Geographic Creative 平台,讓其十年來為《國家地理雜誌》拍攝的相片再現公眾眼前。 其前,他在2001年與另外六名世界頂級攝影記者共同創立了 VII 照片社,至 2005 年 VII 被 American Photo 選為「100位攝影界最重要人物」的第三位。他因其歷史性的戰爭與衝突攝影作品,現為VII的傑出及榮譽成員。 Stanmeyer曾贏得多項殊榮,包括著名的 Robert Capa 獎、POYi 雜誌年度攝影師、並多次榮獲世界新聞獎、年度圖片及 NPPA 獎。2008年他為國家地理雜誌拍攝的一輯有關全球瘧疾的封面故事,獲國家雜誌獎。2012 年憑紀錄片系列「Starved for Attention」獲提名艾美獎,並於2014年以於吉布提拍攝,題為「Signal」的相片取得世界新聞獎。 他曾出版一系列書籍,包括記錄了他居住於峇里島五年多的觀察的 Island of the Spirits。 2013年他於美國麻省 West Stockbridge 開始經營 Stanmeyer 畫廊及Shaker Dam咖啡店,結合公平貿易咖啡和他關於社會議題的作品,將攝影及教育與其熱愛的咖啡結合。 作為講師及教育家,Stanmeyer 與家人現於美國麻省西部伯克郡一個夏天滿是螢火蟲、冬天為雪所包圍的農場生活。

Jacqueline Francis博士為作家、策展人、藝術歷史學者及教育工作者,其著作包括《Making Race: Modernism and “Racial Art” in America》(2012年)及《Romare Bearden: American Modernist (2011年,與Ruth Fine合編)。2016至2017年,她與Kathy Zarur共同為Museum of the Diaspora策劃當代藝術展覽「Where Is Here」。 Jacqueline Francis現時為電子期刊 Panorama: Art and Visual Culture of the United States、國際學術期刊 Third Text: Critical Perspectives on Contemporary Art and Culture以及三藩市藝術空間Luggage Store Gallery的顧問。她亦是三藩市同志藝術資源中心及空間Queer Cultural Center之董會會主席。 現時,她是加州藝術學院視覺及批判研究之研究生課程主席及副教授。

香港城市大學創意媒體學院互媒藝術副教授,同時是以研究主導創作的跨領域藝術家。黎氏是香港首位設計和執教衍生性藝術與文學,以及從人文角度看聲音藝術的大學學者。其實驗性錄像、數碼或混媒的裝置曾於歐美和亞洲的多個城市展出,包括德國奧柏豪辛國際短片節、首爾實驗電影錄影節、倫敦的開放城市紀錄片節、臺北女性影展等等。她於2004年創辦以香港為基地的新媒體群體「文字機器創作集」,探討電算思維與當代藝術的問題,至今已發表五輯聯展。「據點。句點」為其最新的實驗計劃,探索藝術群體組織的模式以及藝術創作、組織的持續性。

李林嘉敏為香港一所古蹟及藝術館大館的教育及公共項目策展人。她主要從事策劃展覽與公共項目,以及教學的工作。2018年7月,她為大館策劃首屆「夏日學社」課程項目,邀請三位卓越的學者與一位當代藝術家來港分享。他們以「勞動」及「特權」為研討題目,分析藝術史及當代藝術案例。在2014至15年間,她擔任美國費城Slought基金會大型項目的策展人,構思一系列的展覽,展出數碼藝術二人組張英海重工業最新的委託作品「Bozo on the Boom Boom Badass Beat」及與2014年香港雨傘運動有關的作品「打氣機」。兩個展覽分別回應Sherry Turkle的《虛擬化身─網路世代的身分認同》及Gilles Deleuze和Félix Guttari的《卡夫卡:走向一種少數文學》一書。她曾獲邀擔任多個講座及會議的講者,包括沙迦藝術基金會的三月會議(2015)、亞洲協會香港中心的「Women in the Arts」研討會(2013)、安迪華荷視覺藝術基金會屬下的創意資本於美國費城舉辦的「Arts Writers Convening」會議(2011)及香港TEDx 「Translating the Human Experience」演講(2013)。她亦曾於香港中文大學英文系擔任高級講師。  

畢浩明從事電訊及資訊服務規劃工作四十年,經歷相關產業在技術、組織及市場結構方面的重大轉變。他退休後投身開發機械人及智能方案,讓更多社會人仕可在「大數據」年代裡享有可持續而博學的生活。此外,他喜愛有機耕作、遠足、機械人舞蹈編舞及在線棋賽,現為WYNG基金會的董事會成員。

Judges


John Stanmeyer is a humanist, photojournalist, Emmy nominated filmmaker and field recordist dedicated to social and political issues that define our times. Over the last decade, John has worked nearly exclusively with National Geographic magazine, producing over 14 stories for the magazine and resulting in 10 covers. Between 1998 and 2008, John was a contract photographer for Time magazine, during which time he photographed hundreds of stories for the magazine including the war in Afghanistan, the fight for independence in East Timor, the fall of Suharto in Indonesia, and other significant world news events. His years with Time resulted in 18 covers of the magazine. In January 2015, Stanmeyer joined National Geographic Creative, bringing his ten years of stories with National Geographic to the Society for representation. Prior to joining National Geographic Creative, in 2001, he cofound with six of the world’s leading photojournalists the VII Photo agency. By 2005 VII was listed in third position in American Photo’s“100 Most Important People in Photography.” He remains a Distinguished Member and Emeritus with his historic archive of war and conflict at VII. He is the recipient of numerous honors, including the prestigious Robert Capa award (Overseas Press Club), POYi Magazine Photographer of the Year (three times), and numerous World Press, Picture of the Year and NPPA awards. In 2008, his National Geographic cover story on global malaria received the National Magazine Award. In 2012 was nominated for an Emmy with the documentary film series, Starved for Attention and in 2014 was the recipient of the World Press Photo award for his photograph from Djibouti titled, Signal. John has published a number of books including Island of the Spirits, a journalistic/anthropologic look at Balinese culture documented during the five years he lived on the island. In 2013, John opened Stanmeyer Gallery & Shaker Dam Coffeehouse in West Stockbridge, Mass, combining photography and education around his passion for brilliant coffee, wrapping the two around ethically procured, human rights-based direct trade coffee with the socials issues represented in his photographs.   A lecturer and educator, Stanmeyer lives on a farm with many fireflies over summer, blanketed quietly in deep snow for pondering walks in winter, in the Berkshires of Western Massachusetts.

Jacqueline Francis, Ph.D., is a writer, curator, art historian, and educator. She is the author of Making Race: Modernism and “Racial Art” in America (2012). With Ruth Fine, she co-edited Romare Bearden: American Modernist (2011). With Kathy Zarur, she co-curated the contemporary art exhibition “Where Is Here” for the Museum of the Diaspora in 2016-17. Francis presently serves on the Advisory Boards of Panorama: Art and Visual Culture of the United States, Third Text: Critical Perspectives on Contemporary Art and Culture, and San Francisco’s Luggage Store Gallery. She is also Board President of the Queer Cultural Center (QCC), a resource and site for LGBT artistic expression in San Francisco. Francis is an Associate Professor and Chair of the Graduate Program in Visual and Critical Studies at the California College of the Arts in San Francisco.

Dr. Linda Chiu-han Lai, Associate Professor in Intermedia Arts at the City University of Hong Kong’s School of Creative Media (SCM), is a research-based interdisciplinary artist. She seeks to extend her doctoral training in Cinema Studies from New York University to relevant artistic and theoretical endeavors and created SCM’s first courses in generative art, sound art and visual ethnography. Her creations have appeared in key venues worldwide—the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, the Open City London Documentary Festival, Women Make Waves (Taipei), and experimental film/video festivals in Seoul (EXiS) and Taipei (EXiT), among others. In 2004, Lai founded the HK-based new media art group, the Writing Machine Collective, which explores computational thinking and contemporary art. The Floating Projects is her latest experiment on modes of sustainability in art-making.

Melissa Karmen Lee is the Education and Public Programmes Curator at Tai Kwun Heritage and Arts Centre, Hong Kong. Her experience primarily consists of curating beyond the exhibition space through pedagogical and public practice. In July 2018, she organised and conceived of ‘Summer Institute’, an inaugural programme where three distinguished scholars and one contemporary artist led seminars and public lectures on the theme of Labour and Privilege, explored through art historical and contemporary art case studies. In 2014-2015, she was the curator at large projects with Slought Foundation, Philadelphia in which she curated a series of ‘On the Cloud’ exhibitions included a newly commissioned work ‘Bozo on the Boom Boom Badass Beat’, performed online and in a gallery space by digital artists Young-Hae Chang Heavy Industries. This exhibition was contextualised in a curatorial essay alluding to Sherry Turkle’s Life on the Screen. A second ‘cloud’ exhibition entitled ‘Add Oil Machine’ was about the 2014 Hong Kong Umbrella Movement and the revolutionary potential of language and enunciation contextualised with Deleuze and Guattari’s Kafka: Towards a Minor Literature. She has been an invited and keynote speaker at panels including Sharjah Art Foundation March Meetings (2015), ‘Women in the Arts’ at the Asia Society Museum, Hong Kong (2013), and the ‘Arts Writers Convening’ at the The Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation, Philadelphia (2011). She gave a TEDx Hong Kong talk entitled ‘Translating the Human Experience’ (2013). Previously, Lee was a Senior Lecturer on faculty at the English Department at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

But Ho Ming is a retired planner in telecommunications and information services, which endured drastic and disruptive transformation in technology, organization, and market structure in the past 4 decades.  His current projects provide robotic and analytic solutions to social groups, including school-age children, who aspire for a more sustainable but well-informed life in the age of Big Data.  In his leisure, Ho Ming enjoys organic farming, hiking, robotic dance choreographing and on-line chess games. Ho Ming is a trustee of the WYNG Foundation.